Making Dandelion Wine – Part 2

Addendum to Supply List
Candy Thermometer (optional but handy)

Straining Infusion After 3 Day Soak

IMG_20140326_185210916

It’s time to strain the future wine after allowing it to infuse for three full days. Now you will need to grab:

Medium Size Cook Pot
Strainer
Cotton Cloth
Ladle

I have a great large sized strainer that I usually use when I am making jam however the mesh size is still too large so I lined the strainer with the cotton tea towel. You might need another person to help you pour out the infusion through the strainer and into the cook pot since stoneware crocks are pretty heavy. I think I actually ladled out the first half to make it lighter so I didn’t spill it all over the counter. Once the entire solution was poured through the strainer and cloth I used the towel to squeeze the remaining juice out of the flower bits and composted the leftover mass. (FYI my white tea towel is now stained a lovely shade of yellow)

IMG_20140326_190551000

Heating the Mixture

This section you will need:
1 large (or 2 small) Oranges
1 Lemon
Dried Ginger
Liquid Wine Yeast (I used Wyeast)
Candy Thermometer
Stirring Spoon
2 pounds sugar

IMG_20140326_190148771 (1)

Bring the cooking pot to the stove and start heating up the solution. While the pot was heating I sliced the orange and lemon into small thin slices, rind and all, and added to the solution while stirring. Then I added the teaspoon of dried ginger and stirred again.

Lastly, I added the 2 pounds of sugar and stirred well until it was mostly dissolved. After speaking with an employee at one of our local fermentation stores we decided to go with using Dextrose for our sugar. Dextrose is pure glucose derived from plants (usually corn) and does not add any additional flavors to the wine that cane sugar or honey tends to do.

IMG_20140326_190528866

I put the lid on the pot and turned it up a bit more so that it would come to a boil. Once at a rolling boil allow mixture to continue a slow (almost simmering) boil for 20 minutes. Don’t let it get out of control like I did as my boil ended up being more like an intense churning – a simmer is fine.

After 20 minutes I turned off the heat and allowed it to cool a bit before restraining again back into the stone crock. I would recommend using the cotton towel again so that the bits of ginger doesn’t get into the solution. I did not do that and so I have some bits in my fermenting wine.

Pitching the Yeast

Pitching yeast simply means adding yeast to the juice or infusion. Allow the infusion to cool which may take up to an hour to get to a cool enough temperature for the yeast to thrive. This is where the candy thermometer may come in handy to get the temperature down to a specific degree. I had some difficulty determining what was the best temperature to pitch yeast. Some say 60-70 degrees F while others talked about pitching at higher temperatures for different results. I decided to stick with the round number of no higher than 100 degrees F and waited until the thermometer registered 100 or below.

We got a wine yeast packet from the fermentation store that was also recommended by the employee. This was kept in the refrigerator until we were ready then it requires activating the yeast by slapping the bag so that it begins to mix and activate. Each yeast mixture or types of yeast are different so just follow the instructions on the bag. Add the necessary amount of yeast and stir.

Let the Fermentation Begin!

IMG_20140328_195259422 (1)

I really wanted to get away with not having to get a carboy and airlock, mainly because I was lazy and didn’t want to pay for it. So for the first couple of days we just covered the crock with a plate that fit completely over the top so that limited air would get in but the gases could still escape. I finally broke down realizing that I did not want to risk getting wild yeast and other contaminates into my wine and so found a gallon size glass carboy and airlock kit for under $30.00.

The wine can bubble and ferment for as short as a week or for as much as 3 weeks. You will know it is done when it stops its bubbling. So far my wine has been bubbling for a week and half and has barely slowed down at all.

Stayed tuned for part 3 – bottling!

One comment on “Making Dandelion Wine – Part 2

Leave a Reply

